To: Primary Contacts at WRC Affiliate Colleges and Universities

From: Scott Nova

Date: August 11, 2010

Re: Announcement of Elections for University Caucus Seats on the WRC Board of Directors

The annual process for electing University Caucus representatives to the WRC Board of Directors will take place over the next five weeks. This memo outlines the election process and announces the schedule for elections.

## **Apportionment of Board Seats**

WRC Board seats are apportioned by the size of universities' licensing programs. WRC affiliate institutions are divided into three categories:

Category A: Institutions with annual gross licensing revenues of \$1,000,000 or greater; Category B: Institutions with annual gross licensing revenues between \$100,000 and \$999,999; and

Category C: Institutions with annual gross licensing revenues of less than \$100,000 (including those with no licensing program).

(Anyone who is unsure of the category to which his/her institution belongs can contact the WRC for additional information.)

The five university seats on the Board are apportioned among these different categories as follows: two seats are reserved for representatives of Category A institutions, one seat is reserved for a representative of a Category B institution, one seat is reserved for a representative of a Category C institution, and one seat may be held by a representative of either a Category B or C institution.

## **Board Seats Up for Election**

The following chart lists the two seats currently up for election and the category of institution for which each seat is reserved. For each seat, the chart indicates the name of the seat's current occupant, whether that person is running for re-election, and the term of office:

Category	Status	Term Will Begin (End)
B/C	Currently held by LaMarr Billups of Georgetown	Autumn 2010 (Autumn 2012)
	University (LaMarr is running for re-election)	
Α	Currently held by Mel Tenen of University of	Autumn 2010 (Autumn 2012)
	Miami (Mel is not running for re-election)	

The other three University Caucus Board seats, which are not up for election this year, are an A Category seat, held by Jim Wilkerson of Duke University; a B Category seat held, by Marybeth Schmutz of Rutgers; and a C Category seat, held by Mike Powers of Cornell University.

## The Nomination and Election Process

<u>Nominations</u>: Nominations will be open on Friday, August 13, 2010 and will close at the end of the day (5 p.m. EDT) on Friday, September 3, 2010. For each seat, the nominator and the nominee must be from the applicable category of institution. This works as follows: For the Category B/C seat, any person making a nomination must be from a Category B or Category C institution and the person he or she nominates must also be from a Category B or C institution.

For the Category A seat, any person making a nomination must be from a Category A institution and the person he or she nominates must also be from an A institution.

As a representative of your university, you may nominate yourself for a seat, nominate another person from your institution, or nominate someone from another institution (again, provided the nominee is from the appropriate category of institution).

Nominations should be e-mailed to Theresa Haas (<u>theresa.haas@workersrights.org</u>) at the WRC office, along with biographical information on the nominee. Again, nominations may be sent in any time between August 13 and September 3, inclusive.

<u>Elections</u>: If there is only one nominee for a seat, that person is elected automatically. If there are multiple nominees for a seat, an election for that seat will be held. Voting is done by email by the official representative of each affiliate institution. The representative sends an email to the WRC indicating his or her choice of candidate.

Voting, if needed, will begin on Tuesday, Sep 7, 2010 and will close at the end of the day (5 p.m. EDT) on Thursday, September 16, 2010. The results will be announced promptly by email. The winner is the candidate receiving a majority of votes cast. *It is important to understand that voting in all elections, for all seats, is open to all institutions.* In other words, while the nominees for a given seat must come from the applicable category of institution, once the nominees have been determined, all affiliate institutions, regardless of category, are eligible to vote in the election for that seat. A reminder of voting procedures will be sent to institutions when voting opens.

## **Summary of Election Schedule**

August 13	Nominations open
September 3	Nominations close
September 7	Voting begins for contested elections
September 16	Voting ends, results announced